Grant Proposal: ETHChicago

Grant ID: 8684ztww1

Summary:

Grant submission suggested by our volunteer kevinjones-crypto and jorgeflores who attends the local Chicago eth meetups.

The Chicago Ethereum Meetup has been active since 2015 and we have yet to host a conference or hackathon for ourselves in this big city. We didn’t get an ETHGlobal-sponsored event so we decided to try to do our own, run by local Chicagoans.

Team:

led by Andrew Poterala twitter @dpotsdobeck who runs Chainvision the digital asset exposure of the bluhm family office fund. He was able to get us some initial funding for the venue and set up the entity to handle the logistics of the event including receiving partnership funds.

I am an Ethereum core dev twitter @jameshe_eth who works on the prysm consensus client and helping organize our local event, I have been helping with partnership discussions and will help with organizing the hackathon.

For some more on the team of volunteers visit our website below

If available, please enter a link to your project below:

https://www.ethchicago.xyz/
https://twitter.com/0xEthChicago/status/1673679507499237383?s=20 - promotional video

The Metropolitan club in the willis tower, Chicago IL

Date:
09-15-2023 to 09-17-2023

Budget Breakdown:
Roughly 80k for the venue, food/drink, 20k for AV/support tools/decorations, and 10-20k for bounties

Attendees:
We are hoping to get 200 conference attendees and 300 hackers.

I have read and agree to the privacy policy:
true

Describe what your project does or is aiming to do in 50 characters or less:
The ETHChicago Hackathon is a three-day builder and creative IRL event where participants compete to win bounties sponsored by our partners. Bounties consist of tying together new technology in the blockchain space, innovating and learning from each other about existing blockchain tools, or solving real-world use cases with the unique properties of decentralized technology.