Compensation payout in USDC stablecoin (full or in partial)

Hello fellow DAO members, I’d like to preface this proposal by saying as one of the newer members of the group that I feel a bit out of my depth posting this. However, I’ve had a few discussions recently that lead me to believe it is a conversation worth having, especially at this point in the DAO’s development. Although I do have an opinion on the topic, the driving motivation behind this proposal is ultimately just to raise the question and establish how the DAO wants to move forward on this matter.

As most of you have likely heard, we are getting closer to receiving full execution of the agreement between The Graph Foundation and the DAO, which will subsequently clear the path for the Graph Foundation to provide funding for the DAO. Although I am still quite new to the DAO, it is my understanding this has been long awaited and will mean the DAO will be able to proceed with compensation payouts for epoch 0, 1 and 2 (which ended yesterday – May 31st).

The delay in executing the agreement (and thus receiving funding) may have created an opportunity for the DAO to consider a potentially positive proposal. Currently, compensation is scheduled to be paid out entirely in GRT, since the entire DAO funding will be received in GRT. However, it may be worthwhile to consider engaging with the Graph Foundation to discuss the feasibility of the DAO receiving partial or all funding that is budgeted for compensation in USDC stablecoins instead. This idea, if permissible by the Charter and agreeable to the DAO and the Foundation, would provide DAO members with a greater degree of consistency and fairness regarding the value of compensation they receive at the time of payout.